Of flu, Japanese and computers

At times, readers of this blog ask me where I get (often nonsense) ideas from. Let me walk you through a real, workable idea generation.

We are having flu season in Bangalore. I am having flu too. I have very little attention span at this point of time and should be home sleeping.

As a part of my job, I was required to go conduct a couple of dozens of performance reviews of my reports. So I am at work. My brain is busted – from intellectual, sentimental and physical demands of this task.

When done, I am sitting on my laptop to finish another urgent and important task. That is to gather a team reporting to me to finish a collective task of reorganizing a test database. They have to sit in a common room for nearly a month. I am struggling with my brain to book a big enough room with enough facilities to carry out this reorganization of test database.

[Please notice the necessity to arrange for the room.]

My temperature has risen to 102F and my brain starts missing signals. I start confusing between Outlook’s duration, date, number of people invited and all the numbers of pay rises in my brain. I need some way to tell these numbers apart clearer.

[Please notice the frustration part.]

Add to the fact that my entire family is sick. With spinning head and 102F temperature, I am the healthiest. My elder son is down with much higher fever and cough since last 15 days. He has his final exams of the year. Luckily now only one paper is left – his third language, Japanese.

[Please notice the distraction.]

He told me that Japanese has one of the hardest way of counting. They have different counters for small animals, people, things etc.

[Please notice the lateral information.]

Why can’t all these confusing numbers appear different for different items – like date and time, number of people etc.? How would it look?

[Please notice the spark.]

The younger one is also sick. He has English to go through. I know once he is done, he is going to jump and finish all Geronimo Stilton books. Ah! Wait a minute, Geronimo Stilton books read like those different fonts for different number counting!

[Please notice the mental modeling.]

Why can’t we come up with a text processor that skims through the text and introduce annotations and fonts for better grasping? It could be a natural extension to my earlier post “Here, Now and Me”! It will help people grasp complex presentation better – or read better when they are distracted.

[Please notice how it links with an earlier idea.]

Done.

3 comments on “Of flu, Japanese and computers

  1. hemanth.hm says:

    Heh heh really liked the [ ] part.

    BTW doing such a lexical analysis and highlighting is not tough.

    This reminded me about the Spread Speed Reading Extension https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/spread-speed-reading-exte/hpnjoanfahcolkdgnfecmncnlfklnllk/

  2. Yash says:

    Hope Joshipura family gets well soon.

    My daughters are also avid followers of Geronimo Stilton. Did not know Geronimo is a favorite in your house too.

    Yes, the font variations in Stilton books do manage to grab you by the throat. The challenge would be to come up with an algorithm that can determine which parts of the text warrant grabbing the reader by the throat. In novels like Pride and Prejudice, the throat-grabbing-thing is contained not even in the text, it’s literally in the space between the lines.

    Good luck managing the flu, the Japanese counting, and the entire team sitting in the big room for a month without it falling into one of those five dysfunctions.

    By the way, I have many times sat next to my daughters when they read Geronimo books (I myself managed to read nearly half of one of those books), but I, though not even down with the flu, did not think of making a text processor convert any text into Geronimo style!

    • bhushit says:

      Yash,
      Did you see some more possibilities?
      This Geronimo tool could be turned on or off at will. Just like a looking glass, we can use it if and when we need.
      From implementation point of view, it is just a map of regular expressions and fonts.
      And I won’t be surprised that down 100 years, Geronimo like presentation becoming mainstream. Why?

      dhyaan-no vyaap
      ghaTato j jaay chhe
      haiku jeeve?

      [Attention span
      Ever decreasing
      Will Haiku survive?]

Leave a Reply

